It got me | Summer Colds & How to Treat Them Naturally

Yes, the dreaded summer cold.

This sucks ass – real talk.

I hate having colds – the coughing, the congestion the achy, slow, tired, icky sick feeling – BLECH!

I seriously hate being sick.  It’s like I take it personally – as if my body has let me down by allowing the foreign intruder asylum inside of me.

I know, that’s a bit dramatic – but I sometimes think or believe my immune system is better than it is I guess.

At least help is here in the form of a Honey, Ginger & Lemon tea that will have you feeling yourself in no time.

honeylemongingertea1

Here’s what you’ll need:

  • 1 whole lemon
  • 1 tbsp honey (or to taste)
  • 1 inch piece of fresh ginger root (peeled)
  • small pot for simmering tea in
  • food grater

First you fill your pot with a little more than 1 1/2 cup of water, place it on the stove on medium high heat.

Next, you take your 1 inch piece of peeled ginger root and grate it into the water in your pot and leave it on the stove until it begins to boil a bit them turn the heat down to medium low and allow the grated ginger root to deeply infuse the water.

While your ginger base is simmering, cut your lemon and juice it into your mug and squeeze your 1 tbsp of honey into your lemon and stir until well mixed.

Once your ginger infusion has simmered for at least 10 minutes, you can now pour your tea into your honey and lemon mixture in your cup.

honeylemongingertea2

Drink it while it’s warm but not too hot!

If you drink at least 3 of these per day, along with eating a preferably  raw plant based diet (or cooked, as long as it’s plant based), avoiding soy, dairy (which cause excess mucus formation)  and processed sugars at least until you’re well again – you should be feeling tons better in at least 2 days!

This is also a great tasting tea as well – my 8 year old loved it!

I hope you enjoy it too!

My annual 12 week 'Everything Cleanse' starts tomorrow!

9 thoughts on “It got me | Summer Colds & How to Treat Them Naturally

  1. Pingback: Wednesday, August 21st, 2013 * Ka-BOOM* | Creating J.Lyn

  2. I just had to share….I woke up this morning sick and feeling AWFUL! I remembered this post and made the tea. I used lime though because that’s what i had, but I actually felt 100x better after drinking it. it was amazing!
    thanks again!

    Like

  3. Pingback: • Breatheasyoga & Wellness

Say what?!

